Quick clarification!

I love music!  I’d love to hear what you think!

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “Quick clarification!

  1. Parissa

    I realize I’m leaving many comments at once. Sorry. 🙂

    For me personally, when I asked about “pop” artists sounding unique, I wasn’t trying to imply that you dislike any particular type; I was really just trying to see if you were aware of any artists that were maybe pushing the envelope in a different way or were a standout because of the music itself and not the lyrics or the shock value.

    For so many mainstream–not necessarily even younger–people, the only exposure to classical music or anything non-Top 40 is through the TV and movies, especially soundtracks. Even in the 40’s and 50’s, cartoons had a significant impact on broadening the “palette” of the viewers. So, I don’t think that “modern America” decides to not listen to classical/”serious” music as much as not being aware it exists or understanding it.

    • Precisely. And that’s where CV comes in.

      There are many efforts, some to be shown next week, of classical music with heavy influences of mainstream. Some of those artists have already been mentioned (Steve Reich, and David Lang), but there will be much more coming about this topic. It’s something I’m learning a bunch in also!

JOIN THE DISCUSSION!

