NYE analysis: Thank GOD FOR THE ROOTS!

CEE LO, sings a bit too high.

THE ROOTS:

A new link since the other one has been removed, but audio is rough!  It’s hard to hear how awesome the bass, drums, keyboard, and guitar are together. You could drive a truck through beats 1 and 3=sweet.  And it’s longer than what was on the broadcast I saw I think.

Oh and SOUSAPHONE!?! AWESOME! It’s mic-ed and in the mix (!) but is not really audible on internet.

http://en.musicplayon.com/play?v=344662&audioOnly=N

4 Comments

Filed under Music

4 responses to “NYE analysis: Thank GOD FOR THE ROOTS!

  1. Parissa

    Welcome back!

    I have Increasingly noticed the difference between people who have performed in bands versus the people who are soloists. For example, when I watched the video of Bieber and Santana, I heard Justin singing and Carlos playing, but I didn’t hear THEM performing. I was glad, though, that they had kept it more simple and stream-lined instead of like Cee Lo, who sounded like he was one note away from busting out all the fireworks and was only restrained by a leash. It is a shame that he sung too high. I haven’t watched the Roots’ performance, so I’ll have to get back to you on that.

    I had an issue with your links. I am using my iPad, so that may be the reason, but i just wanted to give you a heads up.

    • I think that is an excellent observation about Bieber and Santana. If Cee Lo had understood that kind of live performance better, he would have realized “no, when I’m hyped up, I won’t hit that high note.” Either his ego or his lack of experience got in the way.

      Thanks for the heads-up on the links. Was it just Cee Lo’s or the rest of them?
      Thanks for commenting!

  2. Can’t wait for the changes to come. Big vision for a big year… I like it!!

    Loved the Roots too! I realize the pressure and the intensity of a moment such as New Year’s Eve in Times Square can be a lot to handle for even the best performers out there, but isn’t that who they are supposed to be? The best musical performers out there. Or are they? Hmmm. 😉

    Thanks for the analysis.

JOIN THE DISCUSSION!

